Map Editor New Features for NeoAxis 1.2


Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Next topic
Previous topic
Post new topic Reply to topic  NeoAxis Forum Index » General » News
Search for:
Author Message
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:08 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Yes, i agree.
We can provide source of HeightmapTerrain if someone want implement LOD support.

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011
Posts: 9
Country: United States (us)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:55 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
I cant seem to get it to work am i missing something ? :?

Code: Select all   Expand view
                [LogicSystemBrowsable( true )]
      public void EnableAnimationTreeTrigger(string triggerName)
      {
      }

 
 Profile  
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007
Posts: 1508
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Country: Canada (ca)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 2:15 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
LeonSK there is no code inside your brackets...

_________________
I'm NOT paid or work for NeoAxis. I only help moderate these boards. My opinions are not the opinions of NeoAxis Group LTD.
 
 Profile  
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011
Posts: 9
Country: United States (us)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:26 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Yea i know, i tried this and it didn't work and also if i remove MapObject obj it give error so how do i fix it?

Code: Select all   Expand view
               [LogicSystemBrowsable( true )]
      public void EnableAnimationTreeTrigger( MapObject obj, string triggerName )
      {
         if( obj == null )
            Log.Fatal( "CutSceneManager: EnableAnimationTreeTrigger: obj == null." );

         if( obj.IsSetDeleted )
            return;

         ////The class is not supported
         Log.Fatal( "CutSceneManager: EnableAnimationTreeTrigger: The class \"{0}\" is not supported.",
            obj.GetType().Name );
      }

 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:14 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
by the way, better to ask technical questions in the Help section.

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012
Posts: 3
Country: Greece (gr)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 2:31 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Hello,

Very nice new features are the ones you are planning for the new version.
Are you planning to provide other cameras besides the perspective one? Like 3 orthographic fixed side view cameras?
Not in a split view, but rather by changing the camera view?. Many times, side views are very helpful in proper object alignment.

 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:03 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
dbug wrote:
Hello,

Very nice new features are the ones you are planning for the new version.
Are you planning to provide other cameras besides the perspective one? Like 3 orthographic fixed side view cameras?
Not in a split view, but rather by changing the camera view?. Many times, side views are very helpful in proper object alignment.

We have plan to implement these features (Many viewports, axis oriented orthographic view.
Will added in the next versions (1.3 or later).

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
Unlimited License
Unlimited License

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011
Posts: 83
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:02 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
drummingpariah wrote:
Also, having a "flatten terrain under object" function would save me a lot of time, especially with large buildings placed on slightly sloping terrain. If the map editor had an option to automatically flatten the area that the bounding box touches, that would be very helpful.


A lot of games (mainly RTS) would also benefit from having this function in-game, modifying the terrain on-the-fly for seamless building placement. Is this even possible?

 
 Profile  

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007
Posts: 148
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:26 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
jedd wrote:
drummingpariah wrote:
Also, having a "flatten terrain under object" function would save me a lot of time, especially with large buildings placed on slightly sloping terrain. If the map editor had an option to automatically flatten the area that the bounding box touches, that would be very helpful.


A lot of games (mainly RTS) would also benefit from having this function in-game, modifying the terrain on-the-fly for seamless building placement. Is this even possible?


I dont see why not.

The map editor already has a function to level the terrain.

In the case of an RTS game, you could simple add an extra parameter to your building called "terrainRadius" or something similar and when placing the building it would automatically flatten the terrain to the appropriate radius of your building.

 
 Profile  
Unlimited License
Unlimited License

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011
Posts: 83
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:02 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Well I'm worried about the network part. I guess terrain streaming would also help ^_^'

 
 Profile  

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011
Posts: 7
Country: China (cn)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:40 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
LDAsh wrote:
I think it would be nice and benefit pretty much everyone here to finally see these happen:-
Quote:
- Scene management: full culling in a outdoor, terrain culling
- Terrain: LOD support
A more optimised terrain mesh is really needed, at the moment it's difficult to make efficient terrain without losing details, or you can keep the details but feed the engine a lot of triangles.

Plains should be low-poly and rigid peaks should be high-poly.

yes, same request here.

 
 Profile  

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010
Posts: 70
Country: Sweden (se)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:46 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Hi All :)

jedd wrote:
Well I'm worried about the network part. I guess terrain streaming would also help ^_^'

I fully agree.
Any plans on that yet "Ivan" ?

_________________
Current project: Carune Online
http://www.carune.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/Lich0009
http://www.youtube.com/user/Broad0000
 
 Profile  
Unlimited License
Unlimited License

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011
Posts: 83
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:10 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
I tried to scale an object with the new tool, and then by manually changing the scale property. But nothing happened and there was no error message.
I had to use the scaling tool to see what was actually wrong: "Objects with loaded physics model do not support scaling. [...]"
Can we have this error message displayed with the other tools too? Thanks.

My mapper friend was also asking for the ability to set smaller brush sizes (float numbers) for DecorativeObjectManager, so he can lay grass or stones in very precise areas.

I also want to bring drummingpariah's ideas back on the table:
drummingpariah wrote:
Something I'd love to see that I don't think has been touched upon would be the ability to 'drop' physics-enabled objects into the map, and to have them settle into final resting places before the map is saved. It would save a lot of time for creating piles of objects, while enabling each of those objects to have active physics. The object placement tool doesn't quite allow this, it only allows placement with rotation.

Also, having a "flatten terrain under object" function would save me a lot of time, especially with large buildings placed on slightly sloping terrain. If the map editor had an option to automatically flatten the area that the bounding box touches, that would be very helpful.


Thanks in advance :)

 
 Profile  
Source License
Source License

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008
Posts: 721
Country: Norway (no)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:27 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Quote:
My mapper friend was also asking for the ability to set smaller brush sizes (float numbers) for DecorativeObjectManager, so he can lay grass or stones in very precise areas.


The tools uses float internally, so using a value less than 1 should be ok but you need to do some changes in the editor source. See constructor of DecorativeObjectManagerArea.cs, adjust the clamping and follow variable toolRadius ( to change the input dialogue ).

 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:52 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Quote:
My mapper friend was also asking for the ability to set smaller brush sizes (float numbers) for DecorativeObjectManager, so he can lay grass or stones in very precise areas.

Waiting for NeoAxis 1.3 with radius less than 1 numbers support.

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  NeoAxis Forum Index » General » News
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Jump to:  

Next topic
Previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

cron

All times are UTC




Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group