Possible to make a game like WC Privateer?

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Post new topic Reply to topic  NeoAxis Forum Index » General » General Discussion
Search for:

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 pm Post subject: Possible to make a game like WC Privateer?
Bottom of Page Back to top
Hi,

Well, I'm a professional (.NET) programmer for some years now, but games are a very different beast. ;) If I can use GUI editor, networking module and some others - all with my favorite Visual Studio - it would be awesome.

I'm looking for a Game Engine to realize a game hunts in my mind a long time now. And now I'd like to know if NA could be the right choice to make it real.

Ok, what I want to make is a "Wing Commander Privateer" like multiplayer game. A player has a changeable and configurable (with some different modules) space ship, can explore the galacy, visit planets and space stations or trade goods.
In different to most of the demo games I have seen, the GUI should be a main part of the game. The "map" should be the galaxy with planets, stations, asteroid fields, nebulas and some other "space object".

What features I would like to see:
1) Crossplatform
The game should run on Windows, Mac OS and Linux. Support for Android and iOS too would be the best.
2) Multiplayer
Highly important, the game has multiplsyer and a dedicated server. It would be nice, if the whole galaxy could be a persistent world. I know, NA is no mmo engine but 50 possible online players would be more than I need, I think.
A ingame chat (world, alliance, other player) is necessary, also a message/mail system (one player can ingame send a message to another player, no matter if this player is online or not).
If I talk about a persistent world, I think about like this: A player had a fight with pirates, his ship was damaged. The repair would take 3 hours (real time). So the player goes offline and if he comes back after 4 hours his ship is repaired. - Possible with NA?