Map Editor New Features for NeoAxis 1.2


Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Next topic
Previous topic
Post new topic Reply to topic  NeoAxis Forum Index » General » News
Search for:
Author Message
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 pm Post subject: Map Editor New Features for NeoAxis 1.2
Bottom of Page Back to top
This is copy from new blog platform: http://www.neoaxis.com/blogs/ivan-efimo ... w-features

Hi, folks! This is our second blog post in NeoAxis Development Blog, which will cover another upcoming improvements made for NeoAxis Game Engine. This time we have added few new features to Map Editor that will help you design, construct and assemble your game levels more easily.

Level design and construction is an important task that can be very time-consuming and boring if you're using wrong instruments or if they lack required tools and features. With new ability to quickly move, rotate or scale objects using Step Movement (1) tool NeoAxis Map Editor become even more complete and powerful than it was before. Of course, you can specify desired step range and move or rotate your objects discretely, by provided values.

map_editor_new_move.jpg



Another new feature that we'd like to highlight is the ability to instantly move selected objects to the camera — Move Selected Objects to Camera (2). That's it, now you can select required object(s) through viewport or Map entities list, hit the button and this object(s) will be moved right before your eyes ( i.e. to the camera ). This feature can be useful when you need to place an object on where you're looking at and don't want to waste your time looking for this object, dragging it, moving, etc. — just position your camera, hit the button and your work is mostly done.

In addition to Move Selected Objects to Camera we have added an ability to Lock Selected Objects to Camera (3). This is an alternative way to get your objects to where you want them to be — upon feature activation selected objects will be attached and "locked" to the camera and will move with it. While it may be a little inconvenient to use this feature with large objects, many small objects like stones, barrels, boxes and stuff like that can really benefit from it — just lock them to your camera and move it while having your object before your eyes. When all things are in place — just hit the same button, disable this feature and objects will remain in their places.

Let's conclude — new NeoAxis Map Editor features will made it easier to construct and assemble your game levels. New Step Movement tool will give you more precise control on your objects movement, rotating and scaling, while Move Selected Objects to Camera and Lock Selected Objects to Camera will help you to manage and control the placement of your objects in a more intuitive manner. Listed above features will be available in NeoAxis 1.2.

Stay tuned for future updates, we will do our best to fill this blog with new and fresh information directly from NeoAxis developers!

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
Professional License
Professional License
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012
Posts: 57
Location: Lviv
Country: Ukraine (ua)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:19 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
What about auto material reloading on resource editor change? ;)

_________________
Anton Borodyuk
Working on: Thifeo: The Ultimate Dream [Progamming, Level Design]
Working in: Radius Studios [Developer, Founder]

Radius Twitter
 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:25 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
We are thinking to add this feature.

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  

Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011
Posts: 290
Country: Ukraine (ua)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:27 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
good idea

 
 Profile  
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012
Posts: 17
Location: New Hampshire
Country: United States (us)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:42 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Excellent! It sounds like these new features will save a lot of time moving objects around.

Something I'd love to see that I don't think has been touched upon would be the ability to 'drop' physics-enabled objects into the map, and to have them settle into final resting places before the map is saved. It would save a lot of time for creating piles of objects, while enabling each of those objects to have active physics. The object placement tool doesn't quite allow this, it only allows placement with rotation.

Also, having a "flatten terrain under object" function would save me a lot of time, especially with large buildings placed on slightly sloping terrain. If the map editor had an option to automatically flatten the area that the bounding box touches, that would be very helpful.

 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:55 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Thanks for ideas.

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007
Posts: 1508
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Country: Canada (ca)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:29 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
@drummingpariah Very nice ideas, I like the way you think :)

_________________
I'm NOT paid or work for NeoAxis. I only help moderate these boards. My opinions are not the opinions of NeoAxis Group LTD.
 
 Profile  
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012
Posts: 17
Location: New Hampshire
Country: United States (us)
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:56 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Maxwolf wrote:
@drummingpariah Very nice ideas, I like the way you think :)


I wish I could offer more, but I only have the 'free' sdk and wouldn't have time to slog through engine/toolset code even if I had a full license. Right now I can just offer ideas that are self-serving, and hope that they'll help enough people to make them worth integrating.

Right now I'm working hard to consolidate the documentation on creating and integrating game assets, as it seems to have gotten less attention than the tools themselves. That's not a complaint at all, I'd much rather see Ivan working on code and tools, but someone needs to put all the information on using those tools together into one place. I've invested a lot of time into familiarizing myself with the mesh integration process, and have been making materials by hand so far, because the output of the Blender export script includes WAY too much information for .highMaterial files. Also, vegetation was really difficult to figure out without access to the source code.

I had played with the UDK sdk for awhile, and there are a bunch of features there that would be great to have here in NeoAxis (I just plain like NeoAxis more than Epic for my own silly, romantic, open-source-loving reasons), but for now, I'm perfectly content to finish familiarizing myself with the toolchain and behaviors, and would love to offer more when I know a bit more.

 
 Profile  
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012
Posts: 17
Location: New Hampshire
Country: United States (us)
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:42 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
I'd also like a second non-optional decorativeObject manager (for forests and large stones), and more terrain splatting abilities. I'd [love] to be able to load a directory of ground detail textures, splat them all over the terrain, and have the images I've splatted concatenated into one 'decals' texture file that is saved with that map to save on resources. That way, content creators could have a collection of 200 ground decals (like road textures and blood splatters) available when building the world but if they only use 10, the 'decals' texture file would have a much smaller memory and i/o footprint to be loaded than if all 200 were loaded.

 
 Profile  
Professional License
Professional License
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008
Posts: 359
Location: Ozalj, Croatia
Country: Croatia (hr)
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:27 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
I second the physics dropping. Been wanting that since I started using NeoAxis. I always forget to ask for it. It's nearly impossible to set everything that's physics enabled to drop perfectly when the map loads.

_________________
My new game Tainted Fate in development in NeoAxis:
http://www.misfitvillage.com/
My game SickBrick made in NeoAxis out now:
http://www.desura.com/games/sickbrick
 
 Profile  
Unlimited License
Unlimited License
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010
Posts: 436
Country: United States (us)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:59 am 
Bottom of Page Back to top
I don't mean to Hijack the thread but....
I know this may sound wrong or I am , but why aren't you all working on the animation editor addin? Just seems to be the most important thing that needs to be worked on at the moment.. Seems animations have been left high and dry. Just my honest opinion. I don't think anyone is saying anything because you gave templates to look at, or don't want to step on anyones toes, but thats not really good enough. I don't want to have to parse a file and figure out how it works, based on a doc file that says this does this and that does that. You left us all without a proper animation editor and sequencer. Just my honest opinion. People can"figure" it out. But why should we have to.. Your team changed absolutely everything about the engine with that one change. speeds are different. Theres no compatibility at all with the old source at all.
Just my humble observation.

So maybe another thread on the animation editor that is severely needed?
and some status updates on that?

Incin

_________________
Ms3d Exporter
 
 Profile  
Unlimited License
Unlimited License

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011
Posts: 83
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:15 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Hello,

On behalf of one of my mapper friends, I wanted to ask: is it possible to slightly modify the HeightMapTerrain editing tool for it to support float numbers as the inner- and outer-radius parameters? At least when using a big mask size (1024 or 2048). It would allow more precision thus less obstacles in the way of creativity.
Last time I looked it up, the system seemed to be designed with this in mind, but the numbers were rounded up nevertheless somewhere in the code.
Can you confirm this is possible? Can we have this for 1.2?

The next step would be using custom brushes but that's a lot of work and not a priority on my projects. I'm just throwing out suggestions.

Thanks :)

 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:01 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
Quote:
On behalf of one of my mapper friends, I wanted to ask: is it possible to slightly modify the HeightMapTerrain editing tool for it to support float numbers as the inner- and outer-radius parameters? At least when using a big mask size (1024 or 2048). It would allow more precision thus less obstacles in the way of creativity.
Last time I looked it up, the system seemed to be designed with this in mind, but the numbers were rounded up nevertheless somewhere in the code.
Can you confirm this is possible? Can we have this for 1.2?

The next step would be using custom brushes but that's a lot of work and not a priority on my projects. I'm just throwing out suggestions.


Done! Waiting for 1.2.
Agree with custom brushes ideas.

HeightmapTerrainRadius.jpg


_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
Unlimited License
Unlimited License

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011
Posts: 83
Country: United Kingdom (uk)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:42 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
betauser wrote:
Done! Waiting for 1.2.
Agree with custom brushes ideas.


Thanks Ivan!

Just to clarify, does this make it possible to use values between 0 and 1 such as 0.3, 0.5... ?

 
 Profile  
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 5059
Location: Kazan
Country: Russia (ru)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:28 pm 
Bottom of Page Back to top
yes :)

_________________
Founder, lead developer of NeoAxis Group Ltd.
News on Twitter, Google+, Facebook, VK
 
 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  NeoAxis Forum Index » General » News
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Jump to:  

Next topic
Previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


All times are UTC




Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group